Zendesk widget opens automatically even when signed in.

  • 1
  • Idea
  • Updated 2 years ago
  • Under Consideration
When opening a page in Zendesk, the Ring Central Widget will appear automatically. This will cover up some forms on  Zendesk.

I signed into the Ring Central Widget, I had the expectation that once I was signed in the Widget would stop popping up automatically as I'd obviously know it's there if I signed into it.

This however isnt' the case, now when I open a Zendesk page the RingCentral widget pops up with it's dialpad.

So now, not only is Ring Central redundantly adding an extra click to every single Zendesk workflow, I am now accidentally sending outgoing calls wasting even more time.

I believe, once signed in the Ring Central widget shouldn't pop up as clearly the user would know it's there if they signed into it.
Or, even better, never have the widget pop up, have the icon glow to call user attention.

Having elements pop up in the users face is not responsive design, and is generally frowned upon on the Web, Mobile and Unix Desktop.
Photo of Michael DeFrancesco

Michael DeFrancesco

  • 80 Points 75 badge 2x thumb
  • frustrated

Posted 2 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Chris Leong

Chris Leong, Official Rep

  • 100 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
HI Michael,

Thank you for your feedback. 

The widget is displayed upon your initial login to Zendesk to facilitate logging in to your RingCentral service, otherwise all you need to do is click on the phone icon to dismiss this and the widget should minimize or 'fold in' if you prefer not to log in.

Once logged in, click on the phone icon and it will minimize the widget. This will stay tucked away until you get an inbound interaction which will reveal or fold-out the widget. This will remain in view even if you have completed the interaction and requires you to manually minimize or fold in by clicking on the phone icon.

We will look in to your suggestion of a visual notification to call the user's attention as an option. 

Regards

Chris Leong
Thanks, I noticed it still opens automatically with every not Zendesk page even when I'm signed in. If it remembered my show/hide preference when signed in I wouldn't consider it an issue.
I do think a visual notification is better UX though.
(Edited)